Frederic and Cecilia Cuțescu-Storck Art Museum
The Frederic and Cecilia Cuțescu-Storck Art Museum is a modern art museum, dedicated to the artists Frederic Storck and Cecilia Cuţescu-Storck, two of the artists that shaped and enriched the cultural life of the city.
The museum is located in the house designed by the artists, in a German style with the help of architect Alexandru Clavel and constructed in 1912-1913. The artists donated their collection to the government which opened the museum in 1951.
Karl Stork was born in Hanau, Germany and in 1849 moved to Bucharest and became a very active sculptor and the first professor of sculpture of the Fine Arts Academy in Bucharest. Among his many public statues are:
- Spătarul Mihail Cantacuzino (the oldest sculpture in Bucharest on display),
- Domnita Balasa, Carol Davila
- Bas-reliefs on the façade of the University of Bucharest (destroyed by the Allied bombing in WWII),
- Façade and interior of the Sutu Palace, (nowadays, Bucharest City Museum).
The museum presents works of art of the entire Storck family: Karl Storck, Carol Storck, Frederic Storck (mostly sculpture works) and Cecilia Cuţescu-Storck (paintings).